sponsored by


To view information about previous UK Tech dinners, please select the appropriate year below: 

The UK tech awards evolved from the very successful techMARK Awards, which concerned only quoted tech companies. The archive from this event, which was held for 13 consecutive years since its launch in 2000 can also be found below.


Thursday 14 November 2019, Park Plaza, London SE1

2019 Categories

tech innovation of the year award

Sponsored by Barclays  


  • Brightpearl 

  • Graphcore 

  • PragmatIC  

  • Quanta Dialysis Technologies

  • WINNER: Ultraleap 

  • wejo Ltd


tech journalist of the year award

Sponsored by Luther Pendragon 


  • Rory Cellan-Jones/BBC 

  • Simon Duke/The Times 

  • WINNER: Shona Ghosh/Business Insider 

  • Emily Nicolle/City A.M.

  • Jamie Nimmo/The Mail on Sunday 

  • Ellie Zolfagharifard/The Telegraph 

tech for good award

Sponsored by Silicon Valley Bank  


  • Ceres Power plc 

  • Chatterbox 

  • WINNER: DreamLab 

  • eWaterPay 

  • Internet Watch Foundation 

  • OLIO 

tech deal of the year award

Sponsored by Rothschild & Co 


  • WINNER: Earthport plc 

  • Foundry/Roper Technologies Inc.

  • IT Lab Ltd 

  • Ocado Group plc 

  • Trainline plc 

  • GB Group plc 

best use of tech in the digital economy award

Sponsored by Zeus Capital 


  • Azuri Technologies Ltd 

  • FiveAI Ltd

  • gohenry

  • WINNER: Gousto 

  • Open Bionics 

  • TransferWise 

  • WorldRemit Ltd 

  • Xceptor 

tech businesswoman of the year award

Sponsored by PwC 


  • Debbie Bestwick/Team 17 Group plc

  • Jenny Davies/M247 Ltd

  • Clare Gilmartin/Trainline plc

  • WINNER: Poppy Gustafsson/Darktrace

  • Martina King/Featurespace Ltd

  • Elona Mortimer-Zhika/IRIS Software Group Ltd

tech growth business of the year award

Sponsored by ECI Partners 


  • AB Dynamics plc

  • Acturis Ltd

  • Boku Inc. 

  • dotDigital Group plc

  • WINNER: ParentPay

  • Xceptor

tech CEO of the year award

Sponsored by Oakley Advisory Limited 


  • Richard Barlow/wejo Ltd

  • Peter Bauer/Mimecast Ltd

  • Chris Bayne/The Access Group

  • WINNER: Anne Boden/Starling Bank

  • Phil Caldwell/Ceres Power plc

  • Clare Gilmartin/Trainline plc 

tech company of the year award

Sponsored by Arma Partners 


  • AB Dynamics plc

  • The Access Group

  • Acturis Ltd

  • GB Group plc

  • Trainline plc

  • WINNER: TransferWise


A charity collection was held in respect of two charities: bccs and YoungMinds.

The total amount raised at the UK tech awards 2019 which was split equally between these two charities was


The 2019 Voting Panel

Download PDF